top of page
  • Writer's pictureH.K. Searls

Monthly Movie: Persuasion (2022)


Welcome back to Monthly Movie! Today's movie is the 2022 adaptation of Persuasion, starring Dakota Johnson. As always, the inclusion of a movie in a Monthly Movie post does not necessarily mean my endorsement of said film for all ages.


A Summary

Eight years ago, Anne Elliot was persuaded to reject Frederick Wentworth's marriage proposal on the grounds that he was not wealthy enough. Now, she's living with her father and sister, reading books and spending quality time with her pet rabbit. But her family's a mess - her married sister is needy, and her father can't budget the family finances. In financial desperation, Anne's family rents their home to another couple...and it just so happens that this couple knows Frederick. More than that, Frederick will be visiting that summer.


Me and Jane Austen

In which I give a short background on what I've read and watched in the Austenverse.

Read:

Persuasion, Sense & Sensibility

Watched:

Pride and Prejudice (1995), Emma

I loved the original novel Persuasion, but I hadn't had much success with the two Austen movies I'd watched - I found the 1995 Pride and Prejudice about four hours too long, and I fell asleep during Emma (not the new one - I don't know what version I tried watching).

So, I honestly didn't have very high hopes for finding the film version of Persuasion entertaining.

I am glad to report I was wrong!


What I Liked

Netflix doesn't treat Persuasion like a serious historical drama. Instead, it treats the source material like it is - a witty social critique.

Yes, Jane Austen is a better writer than Netflix's screenwriters. Y'all, that's why she's on high school and college reading lists.

But the movie still did a good job of keeping the wit and personality of all the characters. I especially enjoyed the scenes where Anne broke the fourth wall - where she spoke directly to the audience.

Also, there's a good bit of sarcasm and dry humor on Anne's part.

Now I'm single and thriving. I spend my time drinking fine wines, enjoying warm baths, and lying face down on my bed. Like I said, thriving.
My father. He's never met a reflective surface he didn't like. Vanity is the beginning and end of his character. Also the middle.

Anne's family is remarkably unsympathetic, but their characters succeed as caricatures of the wealthy of Regency England.

Elizabeth (Anne's sister, referring to their family history book): Shame there wasn't anything nice we could think to add about you, Anne.
Anne: Thanks for trying.
Elizabeth: You're quite welcome. I wanted to leave you out entirely, but Daddy thought people might think you had died.

I enjoyed Persuasion because it was fun - not a serious movie or something you'd learn life lessons from, but simply a fun Regency movie based on Jane Austen's masterpiece.


Content

Violence:

A young woman falls and hits her head, resulting in a concussion.


Language:

None


Sensual content:

Some kissing.

Some Regency era dresses expose cleavage.

Anne is seen in the bath from the shoulders up.

A woman squats to use the restroom in the forest (nothing is seen).

A few innuendos (I don't remember these, but Pluggedin has this listed).

A joke about infidelity.


Other:

Frequent social (historically accurate) drinking. Anne gets drunk.


Conclusion


Is it book accurate? Mostly. Does it replace some of Austen's prose with modern terms? Yes. Does it take itself seriously? No, and I like that.

While book purists might disagree, I found Netflix's Persuasion to be a fun historical rom-com with some clever dialogue. It could be a fun mother-daughter movie.


Have a movie you want me to review? Comment below!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page